Designation Requirements

    Accredited Wealth Management Advisor (“AWMA”)

    The AWMA designation is issued by the College for Financial Planning (“CFFP”).

    The designation requirements are:


    (a) Completion of course requirements set by the CFFP Board ( The course of study encompasses wealth strategies, equity-based compensation plans, tax reduction alternatives and asset protection alternatives.

    (b) Pass the AWMA exam.

    (c) Adherence to the CFFP Standards of Professional Conduct and subject to a disciplinary process.

    (d) Designation subject to renewal every two years by completing sixteen hours of continuing education, reaffirming adherence to the Standards of Professional Conduct and complying with self-disclosure requirements.

    Chartered Financial Analyst ("CFA")

    CFA charters are awarded by the CFA Institute.

    To earn the CFA charter candidates must:


    (a) Pass three sequential, six-hour examinations. The three levels of the CFA Program test a proficiency with a wide range of fundamental and advanced investment topics, including ethical and professional standards, fixed-income and equity analysis, alternative and derivative investments, economics, financial reporting standards, portfolio management, and wealth planning.


    (b) Have at least four years of qualified professional experience.


    (c) Join CFA Institute as members.


    (d) Commit to abide by, and annually reaffirm, their adherence to the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct.

    Certified Financial Planner (“CFP”)

    Certified financial planners are licensed by the CFP Board to use the CFP mark.
    CFP certification requirements are:


    (a) Completion of the financial planning education requirements set by the CFP Board (

    (b) Attain a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited United States college or university.


    (c) Pass the comprehensive CFP Certification Exam.

    (d) Complete at least three years of full-time financial planning-related experience or the equivalent.

    (e) Successfully pass the Candidate Fitness Standards and background check and agree to be bound by the CFP Board’s Standards of Professional Conduct.


    (f) Complete thirty hours of continuing education every two years.

    Certified Public Accountant (“CPA”)

    Certified public accountants are certified by the Michigan State Board of Public Accountancy.
    CPA certification requirements are:


    (a) Bachelor’s degree from an accredited academic institution recognized by the Michigan State Board of Public Accountancy.

    (b) Minimum qualifying credit hours in accounting.


    (c) Minimum qualifying credit hours in business administration.


    (d) A total of 120 credit hour requirement.

    Chartered Wealth Manager (“CWM”)


    Chartered wealth managers are licensed by the American Academy of Financial Management.

    CWM certification requirements are:


    (a) Accredited masters degree;


    (b) Law degree;


    (c) Certified public accountant license;

    (d) PhD;


    (e) Specialized executive training from an ABA Accredited Law School; or


    (f) Other approved program in Asia, Europe, India, Latin America or Africa.



    Personal Financial Specialist (“PFS”)


    Personal Financial Specialists are licensed by the American Institute of CPAs.

    PFS certification requirements are:


    (a) Certified public accountant license, which must be current and in good standing.


    (b) Minimum 80 hours personal financial planning education within five years preceding PFS application. Education must cover nine areas that make up the PFS body of knowledge.

    Ready to learn more?

    The next step is to have a conversation with our team. This is our chance to learn more about you, and your chance to learn a bit more about us.

    Connect with Us